Although recreational marijuana consumption and possession has been recently
made legal in some states, it is still illegal in Texas, and getting caught
with it can lead to significant penalties. Possession of concentrates
such as hash oil, also known as "earwax," is considered a felony,
and can lead to even more severe penalties, including up to two years
Even possession and sale of small amounts can lead to big fines and significant
jail time. Possession of under two ounces is considered a Class B misdemeanor,
and can lead to a sentence of up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 penalty.
Between two to four ounces is considered a Class A misdemeanor, and between
four ounces and five pounds is a felony.
Selling marijuana in any amount also leads to significant penalties as
well, with a quarter of an ounce considered a Class B misdemeanor, and
over a quarter of an ounce considered a felony. Selling any amount of
marijuana to a minor is also considered a felony, and will lead to a sentence
of up to 20 years in prison. Selling large amounts of cannabis, over 50
pounds, is also considered a felony, and may lead to a sentence of up
to 99 years in prison.
Just because marijuana is slowly being accepted as a recreational drug
in the United States does not mean that the penalties are not necessarily
severe where you live. Texas has one of the most aggressive laws against the
possession and sale of illegal drugs, and understanding the laws may be the difference
between prison time and significant fines.