Houston Criminal Defense Attorney

What You Need To Know About Your DWI Charge

Being charged with a DWI is never fun. It can be stressful and bring on consequences that could be detrimental to your future. If you are wrongfully or incorrectly charged with a DWI, you should take action and contact a lawyer to help fight for your rights. Many people are not sure what a DWI is, how it is different from a DUI, or what the penalties could potentially be. For these reasons, we have provided information below on what you need to know about your DWI.

What is DWI?

According to thestate of Texas, “You are legally intoxicated in Texas when your blood alcohol concentration reaches 0.08%, but you are breaking the law as soon as drugs or alcohol affect your driving — or flying or boating — ability.”

A DUI in Texas is generally for minors who have any amount of alcohol in their system. A DWI in Texas is generally for any legal adult who has a BAC above .08 or drugs in their system while driving.

Penalties

Here are the penalties and fines for DWI:

First offense

  • Up to a $2,000 fine.

  • Up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three mandatory days.

  • Loss of driver’s license for up to a year.

Second offense

  • Up to a $4,000 fine.

  • One month to a year in jail upon conviction.

  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years.

Third offense

  • A $10,000 fine.

  • Two to 10 years in prison.

  • Loss of driver’s license for up to two years.

These penalties can also vary depending on each individual case and the circumstances surrounding the incident.

Next Steps?

If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, often the next best step to take is to talk to a criminal defense lawyer. The cost of fines combined with the cost of having a conviction on your record can be detrimental.

At The Law Offices of Jed Silverman, we may be able to help with your charges today. Call us today to talk to someone about setting up your defense for your case. (713) 597-2221.
Categories